In the second stage of the project ESYS, the exchange with stakeholders is a crucial element. © acatech / Gastmann

ESYS starts its second project stage

18. March 2016

Ten publications on urgent challenges in the context of the energy transition, elaborated by more than 100 experts; accompanying dialogue events with stakeholders from academia, politics and civil society: This is the result of the first stage of the project “Energy Systems of the Future”. The joint initiative by acatech, Leopoldina and the Union of the Academies will continue to develop scientifically sound analyses and position papers for three more years.

Do we want to expand offshore wind power or rather resort to small decentralised units to generate climate-friendly energy? Do we need a comprehensive charging infrastructure for electric mobility or will the cars of the future drive on synthetic fuels from wind power? There is no master plan for the implementation of the energy transition, but different possible scenarios and solutions. The Academies’ Project “Energy Systems of the Future” (ESYS), initiated in April 2013, brings together experts to develop policy options for an environmentally compatible, secure and affordable energy supply.


  • Anja Lapac
  • Communications Officer
  • Energy Systems of the Future

After the end of the first project stage in February 2016, ESYS continues its work - the project has been extended by another three years until the end of February 2019. Once again, some 100 experts from academia and industrial research are invited to contribute their expertise. At the same time, the exchange with stakeholders is intensified: Players from politics, the industry and civil society are involved via regular dialogue formats such as accompanying expert talks or discussion events in cooperation with the HUMBOLDT-VIADRINA Governance Platform. The aim is to record the positions of different social groups and include them into the scientific analysis.

The project ESYS is managed by a Board of Directors, consisting of five members. It is chaired by Robert Schlögl (Max Planck Institute for Bioinorganic Chemistry in Mülheim and Fritz Haber Institute of the Max Planck Society). Other members are Christoph M. Schmidt (Rhine-Westphalia Institute for Economic Research - RWI), Eberhard Umbach (acatech Executive Board), Dirk Uwe Sauer (RWTH Aachen), and Carl Friedrich Gethmann (University of Siegen). On March 14, the new Board of Directors convened for its inaugural meeting.

The Academies' Project “Energy Systems of the Future” is a joint initiative by acatech - National Academy of Science and Engineering, the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina and the Union of the German Academies of Sciences and Humanities. acatech is the lead institution for the project.